78th Annual Meeting – Together, We Can!

by Pee Dee Electric Cooperative

Conference Stage

Pee Dee Electric Cooperative, Inc. held its 78th Annual Meeting at the Florence Civic Center on Saturday, October 28, 2017.  Over 2,100 members registered.

Prior to the business meeting that started at noon, members were busy with the 50/50 raffle which benefited the ‘All for Autism’ charity and the McLeod Health fair.  Members had their blood pressure, glucose, and cholesterol checked, along with an eye exam.  Activities were held in the concourse this year due to expansion and construction currently underway at the Civic Center.  Every account that registered received a $20 energy voucher to use towards their bill and were entered to win one of 50 door prizes, $300, 400, or $500 energy vouchers and the Grand Prize, a 2006 GMC Sierra 2500HD.    Informational booths were also available to learn more about energy saving programs the coop offers.  The Men of Distinction performed for the entire crowd and received a standing ovation for their performance.

The presentation consisted of all Pee Dee Electric’s six vice presidents explaining how each department works together for the good of the co-op.  The video showed each department depicted as a puzzle piece and how it makes one big picture.  Four co-op members were re-elected to the Board of Trustees.  The four incumbents by acclimation:  Preston Gainey – District 5, LaShon Sellers – District 6, Pat Toney – District 3, and Lee White – District 11.  A motion was also made to approve various bylaw changes that were proposed in October’s SCLiving Magazine.  Finally, Chairman Goodson introduced PDEC’s new President & CEO, Mr. Mike Fuller.  Mr. Fuller addressed the membership and stated how excited he and his family are about their move and getting to know the employees and membership.

PDEC was established in 1939 to provide dependable and reliable service at the lowest possible cost to its members.  Pee Dee Electric, a Touchstone Energy Cooperative, is a not for profit, member-owned electricity distribution cooperative and serves approximately 30,000 accounts in Darlington, Marion, Florence, Dillon, Lee and Chesterfield counties.

  • Posted in News
  • Comments Off on 78th Annual Meeting – Together, We Can!